CAULIFLOWER CRUST PIZZA

Cauliflower Crust - Pizza - Healthy Recipes

I’M ITALIAN (which gives me credibility) and this pizza delivers. No, not in the “order in” way but in the actual “Hallelujah praise the Lord” way because this “healthified” pizza is damn good which means everybody’s favourite comfort food is officially back on my menu. And that’s a good thing. As a normal human being I expect you to be able to understand this small wonder.

Before I give you the recipe I have a disclaimer:

I’m going to tell you right now if you’re expecting this crust to be either super crispy like a classic wood-oven pizza or super doughy like a Pizza Pizza pizza  – it’s neither. It does a great job simulating the over-all flavour of ‘Za but is not very “crust-like” in the traditional sense. That said – don’t shy away – it’s soooooo tasty. Not to mention easy-peasy lemon squeezy.

Cauliflower Crust Pizza

• 2 cups cauliflower (once ‘riced’)
• 1 clove garlic
• 1 cup part-skim shredded mozzarella cheese
• 1 egg beaten
• 1 tsp oregano
• 1 tsp basil

I used the recipe from this blog – you can get the instructions there.

Once I had the crust in the oven I began cooking my toppings. You have to pre-cook whatever you’re throwing on top because the whole thing only goes back in the oven for about 5 minutes. I sauteed: onion, garlic, red pepper, jalapeno pepper, sweet potato, tomatoes, mushrooms and spinach. I had intended to throw on a little zucchini too but accidentally walked out of the grocery store with a cucumber. Ugh.

When I pulled the golden crust out of the oven I spread a little sauce, threw on some hot Genoa (guilty as charged) and topped it off with my veggie melody and some cheese (more mozzarella and some goat). The cheese in this recipe is really the killer – because there’s so much of it in the crust I tried to go really light on top. Next time I’ll probably skip the extra mozzarella all together. Then I popped it back in the oven for about 5 minutes on broil and presto. Pizza.

I had to eat it with a fork and knife (the crust can’t withstand the weight of all the veggies) but I’m okay with that ’cause I often consume my pizza this way. I shared some with Tiff and she gave it the thumbs up too so I’m not completely alone in this.

So it’s official. I’ve turned into one of those people who replaces normal ingredients for weird ones. To be honest, while I’m enjoying all the benefits of having a “healthier” option – what I’m really loving most is experimenting in the kitchen! Got a weird recipe you think I should try, share it below! I’ve already mastered the zucchini noodle and am going to attempt Cauliflower Mash sometime soon.

WHAT'S ON YOUR MIND?

