MY FIRST “OH GOD I’M GETTING OLD” MOMENT

Geek Chic

source

WELL FRIENDS, It’s official, my vision is going. I had my first ever “oh god I’m aging” moment yesterday and let me tell you something – it was not cool. I spent the better half of this week perplexed as to why my computer screen was so blurry but had blamed it on ten pesky culprits (fingers, mine included) who just can’t seem to keep themselves off the monitor (‘look with your eyes not your hands’ I keep reminding myself).  And for the record I have an infamously filthy screen (I don’t know why I’m bragging) so the theory was not that far-fetched.

And then. I put my glasses on. Crystal. Fucking. Clear. And that’s when panic set in. Okay, okay, I know what you’re thinking, if you have glasses 1. why weren’t you wearing them? and 2. why is this a shock?

I got glasses in grade 10 when I couldn’t get through an incredibly boring book without my eyes tearing up and falling off the page. It wasn’t so much that I couldn’t see the book but more so that my eyes were being so strained that they were getting watery and I couldn’t see through the tears. In hindsight I blame the author for writing such a terrible book – I think my eyes were simply in protest.

Since then, my glasses have always been an option. I wear them if I’m tired or have a headache, for driving at night (cuts the glare) and most often – when they complete my outfit (I know…).  I have never needed my glasses, they were more of a ‘nice-to-have’ and fashionably convenient.

So you can only imagine my devastation when I realized that this was only the beginning and soon enough I’ll probably be that person who can’t spontaneously sleep over at your house because I don’t have any contact solution (note: I can’t tell you the last time I had a spontaneous sleep-over but I’d like the option).

I am not ready to be dependent on something else to see – it freaks me right out (and yes I realize half the world right now is telling me to cry them a river.)

Moral of the story – I’m not okay with this.
Geek Chic: Cool.
Losing Vision: Not Cool. Not Cool at all.

6 thoughts on “MY FIRST “OH GOD I’M GETTING OLD” MOMENT

  1. Hahaha not being able to spontaneously sleep over at someone’s house is literally the ONLY reason I haven’t got contacts and made the decision to live life a little blurry. I understand your pain lol.

  2. just wait until you get your first real wrinkle. i was 26 and totally unprepared to handle it. i’m also feeling like i might need glasses too but i’ve never had them before so it’s a little devastating…

    • Oh God – wrinkles and grey hair won’t be a welcomed thing!
      Glasses are great when they are an option (I love accessorizing with mine) though I suppose that’s not really what they’re for… hahaha!

  3. And then you need a bigger handbag, because you have to bring both your Rx sunnies and your regular eyeglasses every time you leave the house.

WHAT'S ON YOUR MIND?

