UNPASTA PASTA: ZUCCHINI NOODLES

Zucchini Spaghetti - Gluten Free Pasta

SO LAST NIGHT I made un-pasta. And it was pretty damn good.

When I committed to my ‘clean eating’ challenge I knew that the hardest part for me would be surviving the social aspect of food. I truly believe that if I was a total loser with no job who just stayed at home and existed alone I’d be a really skinny bitch. I have all the willpower in the world when it comes to grocery shopping but no willpower when there’s leftover cake sitting in the office kitchen (I DON’T EVEN LIKE CAKE!). This time it’s different though. My ability to say “no thanks” has completely surprised me – as my dear friend Errick McAdams would say, I’m flexing my ‘no’ muscle – and it’s getting stronger.

Anyway…Tiff told me her fam would be cooking pasta for dinner on Saturday night and invited me to join in. I’m Italian so what can I say, I like my pasta and this was a hard offer to refuse. Even though pasta is considered a “clean food” I’m still on my Cooler Plan 1 thingy so I knew this meal wouldn’t fit the bill…unless! That’s when I had the bright idea to try something I’d seen – probably on Pinterest – swap out the noodles for zucchini! BRILLIANT. Plus it meant I got to buy a new Kitchen gadget (a julienne peeler) and lately I’ve been finding myself taking a particular liking to Kitchen gadgets… I may have order a food processor online today…*cough* the Breville Sous Chef *cough*

Making the dish was simple! First I sliced the zucchini with my new peeler. Then I did a quick “blanch” by bringing a pot of water to a boil and cooking the ‘noodles’ for 1 minute. I drained out the water and transferred the ‘pasta’ to a bowl of cold water and let it sit for 2 minutes. Note: I did not make up this process it’s what the Internet said to do and you don’t mess with Google. Also – I’ve read that you can use the noodles raw but I wanted them to be a bit of a softer texture. After that I poured the zucchini into a cullender and let the rest of the water seep out while I prepared the rest of the meal (and by I, I mean Tiff’s dad – thanks Grant!).

ZucchiniNoodleDinner

I loaded up my pasta dish with tons and tons of veggies and some chicken for protein – it was incredibly delicious! I wouldn’t go as far as to say it tasted or satisfied the same way a traditional noodle does – but I’ll definitely be putting this concoction into my regular rotation of meals. Oh and for the record this meal wasn’t even really ‘Cooler Plan 1’ friendly but I felt good about all the ingredients going into it so I’ll let it slide if you will.

4 thoughts on “UNPASTA PASTA: ZUCCHINI NOODLES

  1. Yum! I had a similar dish in a restaurant a few weeks ago and it was delicious. I never imagined it would be so easy to make the “un-pasta.” All I need now is the julienne peeler…

    • Do it! Haha I just want to use it on everything now! I tried it out on a sweet potato too – I feel like you could make a pretty badass SP hash with that thing :)

  2. Pingback: HIGH 5 FOR FRIDAY | LITTLE LESSY

  3. Pingback: Simple Ways I’ve Been Eating Healthier | Lifehacker Australia

WHAT'S ON YOUR MIND?

