PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER

sayings from Perks of being a wall flower

WHEN I WAS in grade 10 on a family vacation to Mexico I read the first book that ever really changed my life. When I finished it, I told my cousin who was 13 at the time to read it also. She liked it too – but I never really asked if it meant as much to her as it did to me. For some reason that book spoke to me in a way no other book had.

I just got it. I felt it. It made things click.

When I was 19 and coping with a break-up I decided to re-read the book. I uncovered even more depth and meaning that my 16-year-old self was likely too naive to understand the first time around. I fell in love with the book even more.

Part of what made The Perks of Being a Wallflower so special was that it flew under the radar for a really long time. Few people had heard of it (let alone read it) but when you met someone who had, you felt this instant bond and connection with them.

In the spirit of sharing Words Of Wisdom on Wednesday (and because Perks just got released as a feature film last month) – I wanted to share some of my favourite quotes from the book (and believe me this book is packed with goodies). These are the words that play over and over in my head – the words I go back to whenever I’m searching for answers. Hopefully they speak to you in a way that makes you want to read the book too – or at the very least see the movie.

image sources: 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 / 6

5 thoughts on “PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER

  1. Allessia, I read the book in about 7th grade and thought I was the ONLY one! I saw the movie over the weekend and loved it. The casting was great, Logan Lerman gave an incredible performance, and it was so strange (but awesome) to see Emma Watson as anyone but Hermione. I really thought I was the only person who knew it was a book first! Have you seen the movie yet? What did you think of it?

    • Of course you’ve read this book! Hahaha because we are the same person!

      I haven’t had a chance to see the film yet – for a while it wasn’t playing in any theaters in Vancouver! I’m despite to though, so we’ll have to chat about it after that!

      I have high hopes since Stephen write the screenplay and did the casting!

    • Oh My Gosh Steph! That makes me so happy – we’ll have to discuss when you’re done! I underlined/highlighted all the quotes in the book that I wanted to remember :) I highly recommend doing that too!

      Hope you like it!

WHAT'S ON YOUR MIND?

